/ Governance / SC directs Chhattisgarh police to initiate peace talk after expose by CBI

SC directs Chhattisgarh police to initiate peace talk after expose by CBI

Peoples Voice on October 21, 2016 - 10:30 pm in Governance

Swami Agnivesh, Nandini Sundar

Between March 11 and March 16, 2011, a police party consisting of police, SPOs and CRPF, led by DS Marawi, then Additional SP, Sukma, carried out combing operations in Morpalli, Tadmetla and Timpuram villages, “as per the orders of the then SSP Dantewada”’ (FIR 4/2011, filed by DS Marawi). The then SSP Dantewada was Shri SRP Kalluri.

In the course of the operations, 3 men were killed – Madvi Sula of Bhanda Morpalli, Badse Bhima of Pulanpad and Manu Yadav of Pulanpad. Three women were raped, 2 in Morpalli and one in Tadmetla. 33 houses were burnt in Morpalli, 59 houses in Timapuram and 160 houses in Tadmetla village. When Swami Agnivesh tried to deliver relief to the villages on March 26, he and his companions were brutally attacked by Salwa Judum leaders at Dornapal.

On 5th July 2011, the Supreme Court ordered a CBI enquiry into these incidents of violence. On 17 October 2016, the CBI chargesheeted 7 SPOs in the special CBI court in Raipur, who were the gang leaders. They have also charged 26 persons, including leading members of the Salwa Judum, such as P. Vijay, Dular Shah, Soyam Mooka and others for the attack on Swami Agnivesh. The cases of rape and murder are still under investigation.

The CBI enquiry has totally exposed the police lie that the houses were burnt by the Naxalites, and instead shows that these unlawful activities were carried out by the SPOs/police/CRPF. The CBI report notes that 323 SPOs/policemen as well as 114 personnel of COBRA and 30 personnel of CRPF participated in the operation.

It also points to the concealment of rapes and murders by the Chhattisgarh police. The FIRs filed by DS Marawi, after the media had exposed the attacks, make no mention of the rapes and murders. Media reports on this were dismissed as propaganda by SRP Kalluri and the Chhattisgarh government.

It must be noted that the CBI was repeatedly attacked and intimidated during the course of the investigation.

The following Constables in the Chhattisgarh Police (former SPOs), who were identified by the villagers have been charged under Sections 34, 326 and 436 of IPC include: 1.) Vanjam Deva, of Surpanguda, 2.) Telam Kosa of Lakkapal,  3.) Madkam Bheema of Jonaguda, 4.) Telam Nanda of Lakkapal, 5.) Kiche Nanda of Korrapad (now Head Constable), 6.) Barse Ramlal of Peddabodkel (Auxiliary Constable), 7.) Sodi Dashru of Millempalli (gopniya sainik).

The fact that these leading SPOs have been held responsible also shows that the Chhattisgarh State Government’s action in converting all SPOs into Armed Auxiliary Forces, with effect from the date of the SC judgment banning them, (5 July 2011), was malafide. The state was directed to weed out and prosecute all those held guilty of human rights violations. It has completely violated its obligations to the Court.

The following persons, many of whom are well known Salwa Judum leaders (now members of new vigilante organisations like Samajik Ekta Manch and AGNI) have been charged under Sections 34, 147, 149, 323, 341, 427 and 440 of the IPC:

1.) Dulal Shah 2.) Vijay Singh Chouhan 3.) Balwant Singh Chouhan, 4.) P. Vijay Naidu, 5.) Sodi Joga, 6.) Kawasi Kosa, 7.) Mukesh Kumar Podiyami, 8.) Rinku Prasad Gupta, 9.) Kartam Muya, 10.) V. Laxmi Narayan 11.) Sanjay Shukla, 12.) Wali Mohammad, 13.) Midiyam Ganga 14.) Muchaki Linga 15.) Rajendra Verma 16.)Sheikh Nayeemullah 17.) Chhannu Korsa 18.) Boddu Raja 19.) Soyam Bheema 20.) Baliram Nayak 21.) Punem Hurra 22.) Md. Rafiullah Khan 23.)Soyam Muka , 24.)Mohammad Shammy 25.) Sunnam Penta 26.) Salvam Rajarao

The matter was listed before Justice Madan Lokur and Justice AK Goyal today, 21 October, 2016. The judges directed the CBI to make a copy of the papers available to the petitioners, as represented by Senior Advocate Ashok Desai. They allowed the petitioners to file a protest petition in RC 8 and RC 9 which have been closed (relating to Morpalli). The Justices also noted that in cases of rapes and murders where the victims were unable to identify the perpetrators, they should be give compensation under 357 A, for which a dedicated fund is available.

The Honourable Justices also strongly advised the Government Counsel to initiate peace talks, reminding them of the example of the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize for the resolution of the Colombian government war with FARC, as well as the Nagaland and Mizoram settlements. Mr. Ranjit Kumar, Solicitor General and Mr. Tushar Mehta, ASG, promised to take it up with the government at the highest levels. The government counsel also conceded that police action was only a momentary step, there had to be a longer-term solution.